Latest News

The PreK-12 Learning Group Announces the 2014 Lamplighter Honorees

The PreK-12 Learning Group of the Association of American Publishers congratulates the winners of the 2014 Lamplighter Honors for Leadership in Educational Publishing: Frank Ferguson of Curriculum Associates LLC, Todd Brekhus of Capstone Digital, Karen Cator of Digital Promise, Kathy Hurley of Pearson Foundation, and Corinne Burton of Teacher Created Materials.

Philadelphia, PA (PRWEB) June 25, 2014

The PreK-12 Learning Group of The Association of American Publishers (AAP) is pleased to announce the five individuals who will be presented with awards through this year’s Lamplighter Honors for Leadership in Educational Publishing.

The 2014 honorees are: Frank Ferguson of Curriculum Associates LLC, Hall of Fame Award; Todd Brekhus of Capstone Digital and Karen Cator of Digital Promise, Visionary Award; Kathy Hurley of Pearson Foundation, Ambassador Award; and Corinne Burton of Teacher Created Materials, Member of the Year.

Now in their second year, the Lamplighter Honors celebrate the extraordinary accomplishments of the learning resource industry and the ongoing mission of helping every child receive a world-class education. The Lamplighter Honors recognize the individuals that have made a positive impact on the lives and endeavors of those throughout the learning resource community, including students, educators, and their fellow professionals. These thought leaders have made significant contributions to advance the field through their ideas, talents, and tenacity.

The Lamplighter Honors Gala is scheduled for December 8, 2014, at the Russian Tea Room in New York, NY.

About the 2014 Lamplighter Honorees

The Lamplighter Honors include four awards: the Hall of Fame Award; the Visionary Award; and two member awards, The Ambassador Award and Member of the Year.

The Hall of Fame Award is given to industry leaders with an outstanding history of accomplishments. This year’s honoree is Frank Ferguson, Chairman and CEO of Curriculum Associates, LLC. Mr. Ferguson is a leader in the assessment and instruction industry. Besides spearheading the first comprehensive inventory of basic skills, the BRIGANCE® Comprehensive Inventory of Basic Skills, he advocated for research on how to prepare students for state tests as well as the actual composition of the assessments. Outside of the classroom his philanthropic endeavors represent the best of the industry, including offering office space and support to start up companies, being an active member of Social Venture Partners, and establishing the Ferguson Education Leadership Fellowship.

The Visionary Award is given to individuals for their exceptional leadership and proven foresight in transforming the educational experience. This year’s honorees are Todd Brekhus, President of Capstone Digital and Karen Cator, CEO of Digital Promise.

Todd Brekhus is a leader in developing learning solutions that empower students to take control of their own education while still allowing for collaboration between the students, their parents, and their teachers. Under his leadership myON has become a benchmark in the industry for combining educational technology with effective pedagogy.

Karen Cator has demonstrated unwavering commitment to equity in the classroom, specifically access to technology and modern resources. As Director of the Office of Educational Technology for the Department of Education, she spearheaded the National Technology Plan, providing a roadmap for how schools, content and tech developers, and the government can work together to develop more effective classroom tools to support educators and students. In her position at Digital Promise, she has focused on not only supporting innovation in the classroom but also on developing best practices to inform schools across the nation.

The Ambassador Award recognizes an individual that has helped the association establish strong relationships across the learning resource community. This year, the award will be presented to Kathy Hurley, EVP of Education Alliances at Pearson Foundation. Kathy Hurley has developed an infinite number of connections for the PreK-12 Learning Group and continues to build bridges between companies and individuals in the preK-12 universe. From acquiring speakers for our events to promoting membership to finding new venues for us to share our mission, she has been a tireless advocate. Moreover, through the DOLS and her own initiatives, she has mentored countless industry newcomers and guided colleagues on their career paths.

The Member of the Year Award is given to a member who has provided tremendous support to the PreK-12 Learning Group. This year, the award will be presented to Corinne Burton, president of Teacher Created Materials. Ms. Burton has provided the Learning Group staff with expert guidance on events, governance, and membership. She was instrumental in developing the 2014 Master Class series and in finding new ways to showcase our professional development programs. In her role as an Executive Council member she has provided strategic leadership, and she is always available for counsel on key issues in the industry.

About the Lamplighter Honors Gala

These five industry leaders will be recognized at the Lamplighter Honors Gala on Monday, December 8, 2014. The event will be held at the Russian Tea Room located at 150 West 57th St in New York, NY. Tickets for the event will be available this fall on

About the PreK-12 Learning Group

A division within Association of American Publishers (AAP), the PreK-12 Learning Group serves its diverse membership by providing valuable resources and industry intelligence; fostering a fair, competitive and robust market; and encouraging the development of professional, quality content for teaching and learning. The Learning Group engages state, local, and federal policy leaders on such issues as funding, curriculum, testing, and literacy, and also organizes events, awards, and programs to support professionals at all levels. In 2013, the School Division of the AAP merged with the Association of Educational Publishers (AEP) to form the PreK-12 Learning Group, which combines AAP’s proven strengths in advocacy and legal affairs with AEP’s successful programs for the benefit of its members. Read more at

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

Powered by WPeMatico

Leave a comment

seks shop - izolasyon
basic theory test book basic theory test